Unit 12 – Part 3 – Research

IMDB (2016) The All Time Top 50 British Comedy Actors. Available at: http://de-beta.imdb.com/list/ls051783546/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017

The first research source that I have studied was through the IMDB website, I am aware that this is a well-known, trustworthy source as it quotes ‘the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, tv and celebrity content. As I want to base my Ted Talk around how males and females are portrayed in this industry I found this a great place to start as throughout this ‘Top 50’ list you start to gather some kind of idea as to the fact that more of the ‘Top 50’ comedy actors are in fact males.

The Top Tens (2016) The greatest comedian actors. Available at: https://www.thetoptens.com/greatest-comedic-actors/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017)

Even though ‘The Top Tens’ may not be as much of a reliable source compared to IMDB I wanted to add to my knowledge of this subject, I wanted to find out how well I recognise the ‘top comedian’ actors. And not to my surprise I knew exactly who each and every one of the people in the list were.

The Editors (2016) The 50 Funniest Women of 2016. Available at: http://www.marieclaire.com/celebrity/news/g3044/funniest-women-in-comedy/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017)

Similar to my previous research source I wanted to know exactly how well I could recognise a list of female comedian actors, after searching the internet I was unable to find the same list but for females. This in itself I find to be an unfair inequality, when I began to look through the list of the ’50 funniest woman of 2016′ (as this is the closest resemblance I could find to my previous research source) I could not recognise any of the females listed within.

Lynch, J. (2015) Amy Schumer says these are the biggest differences between how male and female comics are treated. Available at: http://uk.businessinsider.com/amy-schumer-biggest-differences-between-how-male-and-female-comics-are-treated-2015-7 (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

Continuing my research into how male and female comedians are portrayed within films I came across a source which began to talk about how male and female comedians are treated. I found this useful to my research as it gave me an insight as to how this industry is still male dominated and people still do get treated unfairly.

Leader, M. (2009) 20 comedians turned actors. Available at: http://www.denofgeek.com/movies/14247/20-comedians-turned-actors (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

With my next source I wanted to look slightly into the success rate of male/female comedians who turned their career into movie. Much to my surprise again this area was dominated by males who have managed to make more succession out of a career purely because of their gender.

New York Film Academy (no date) Gender inequality in film. Available at: https://www.nyfa.edu/film-school-blog/gender-inequality-in-film/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017)

After studying a new research source (New York film blog) I began to see factually how much of the inequality there actually is within film. This source has many different, detailed diagrams, just to take one as an example, the average ratio of male actors to female is 2.25:1. Just from that one example you can start to see just how differently genders are treated in this industry, this is going to be one of the more helpful research sources that I can use within my Ted Talk.

Smith, N. (2015) Jennifer Lawrence expresses anger at Hollywood’s gender pay gap. Available at: https://www.theguardian.com/film/2015/oct/13/jennifer-lawrence-hollywood-gender-pay-gap (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

Althought this is not directly related to my question of how male and female comedian actors are protrayed, I found this source pretty useful as it gave me some kind of insight as to how differently each gender is payed. From looking into this source it furthered my knowledge of inequality in this industry, it clearly talks about how females are being paid significantly less for doing exactly the same job as males.

Cipriani, C. (2015) Study on Women in Film and Television Confirms The Worst. Available at: http://www.indiewire.com/2015/02/sorry-ladies-study-on-women-in-film-and-television-confirms-the-worst-65220/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

I looked into my next source as it talks about how males are dominating the film and tv industry and females are left behind, treated unfairly purely because of there gender. This has been a helpful research source to me as it goes in to talk about demographics aswell as providing facts about what percentage of males and females get given specific roles in the industry.

Media Watch (no date) Gender Issues In The Media. Available at: http://www.etfo.ca/Resources/ForTeachers/Documents/Gender%20Issues%20in%20The%20Media.aspx (Accessed: 14 March 2017)

For this next research source that I looked into it just talks about the gender issues that people are faced with in media, this source hasn’t been as helpful to me as the others purely because it doesn’t include as much valuable information as the others. Not only this but it doesn’t seem to include much information that would be relevent to my specific topic.

Friedman, M. and Sebastian, M. (2015) 14 Ways Women Still Aren’t Equal to Men. Available at: http://www.marieclaire.com/politics/news/a15652/gender-inequality-stats/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

This next source was slightly more helpful to me as it included a lot of facts that I can incorporate into my Ted Talk, although it is not directly related to my topic it gives me more helpful examples of how males and females are treated differently not only in media, but in day to day life.

Shor, E. (2015) Why Men Receive Much More Media Coverage than Women. Available at: http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/usappblog/2015/11/03/why-men-receive-much-more-media-coverage-than-women/ (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

I knew straight away that from looking at this research source it was something I could use in my final Ted Talk presentation, not only does it go into detail about why males receive more media coverage than females, but it includes statistical charts which again would be extremely helpful when I come to putting together my Ted Talk.

Morris, G. (2016) A lack of female comedians. Available at: http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-03-08/morris-a-balanced-media-not-when-it-comes-to-gender/7228262 (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

This research source is similar to the previous one that I looked into, talking about how it is not a balanced media. It doesn’t include everything in as much detail but it has different views, a different way of showing the information. That is why I used this source because it is always best to incorporate as many different views as you can, which in the end will allow me to create a more balanced Ted Talk.

Driscoll, B. (2014) A lack of female comedians. Available at: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/03/26/comedy-are-women-funny-lack-female-comedians_n_5028855.html (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

This was one of the more helpful research sources to me purely because it is about a female comedians experience of being treated unfairly, it begins to talk about what actually happened and the gives the evidence of her being treated massively unfairly because of her gender. It becomes quite apparent from looking into this about the real injustice females encounter and is definetly something that I will be refferring back to later on in the project.

Burnett, D. (2014) Why do people believe women aren’t funny?. Available at: https://www.theguardian.com/science/brain-flapping/2014/feb/11/women-arent-funny-why-do-people-believe-this (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

I’ve decided to use this source as it discusses the stereotypical view that people have ‘woman aren’t funny’. First of all I know that this is a reliable source where I can trust the views that are put in place because of the big name ‘The Guardian’. This was helpful to me due to the fact that it really does go into detail about not onloy the views and facts of this topic, but it gives good examples to go with it.

Smith (2009) The male glaze theory. Available at: https://www.slideshare.net/fleckneymike/the-male-gaze-laura-mulvey (Accessed: 14 March 2017).

It is important for me to include a wide range of different research sources that are all helpful to me, that is why I have decided to include some theory that I can later apply to my Ted Talk presentation, this is something that I will constantly refer back to as ‘The Male Gaze theory’ can directly link to my topic.

 

Leave a Reply

